Things to Do.Ah, the New Year.  That awesome time of year where we resolve to be resolved.  To boldly go where no us has gone before.  To do what is true and noble and right and healthy. To do. To do. To do.  It’s like watching a complete demolition on HGTV and knowing they’re going to try to put the whole thing together without blueprints.

It’s a recipe for disaster.

I’m taking a different approach this year.  Sure, I have my Fitbit and I’m tracking my calories, but I’m not planning to cure cancer or run a marathon.

This is my year of Not-To-Do. 

This year I’m looking seriously at my life and I’m deciding what doesn’t need to be done, at least by me. I can’t do it all.  I don’t understand it all. So, why have I put myself in charge of it all?  Why am I doing the things I do?  Am I doing these things because they are important to me, or am I doing what everyone else thinks I should be doing?

A read a terrific book called The Best Yes by Lysa TerKeurst and it really made me think.  What have I said “yes” to that doesn’t excite or fulfill me?  What have I taken on that I really resent? Did I say “yes” because I wanted to or because I felt obligated to?  What is it that God has called me to do this year, and what needs to be adjusted so that I have the time and energy to do that?

Every yes costs us something.  We trim our budgets of frivolous things that cost too much. Do we trim our to-do lists the same way?  Time is more precious than money.

How are you spending yours? Is it worth it?

 

 

 

