The Lord is absolutely good, true, faithful, and gracious.  But the enjoyment of Him is in large measure dependent on what we think He is really like. – Sinclair Ferguson

Every once in a while, I read something that just stabs my situation in its heart.  Today was one of those days.  I’m reading By Grace Alone: How the Grace of God Amazes Me by Sinclair Ferguson.  In Chapter 6 of the book, Mr. Ferguson points out that Satan’s first and best attack against us is how he distorts our view of who God is and what His purposes are. 

Jesus asked Peter, “Who do you say I am?”  What would be our answer if we were to be completely honest?  Do we really believe that God is good and faithful, or is there a little part of us that wonders if it’s God’s fault when things go bad?  Have we allowed our hearts to be lied to?  Are we like Job, suffering in situation we didn’t deserve or ask for; surrounded by friends who are trying to be helpful, but really aren’t? 

It is so easy to get sucked into circumstances and not see the bigger picture.  It happens to everyone all the time.  That’s why it is critical that we get into our Bibles every single day to saturate ourselves with the truth of who God is and how much He loves us.  You can’t discern the truth by focusing on a lie.

Treasury agents don’t spend their time looking at counterfeit money.  Instead, they study the intricacies of real currency.  They are so familiar with the genuine article that they can spot a fake from a mile away. What’s what we need to do.  Get so familiar with God’s truth and God’s character that we can see a lie from a mile away. 

I’m not going to tell you that I understand all the mysteries of suffering and hardship in the world, because I don’t.  I don’t know why people suffer with cancer or why terrorists blow up buildings.  I don’t understand evil or hatred or racism.  But this I do know.  I know that God is good and that He loves every person, and if we live in the light of that truth, our world would be a little more of what God intended for us.

 

