writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

Writing 101 – Day Eleven

Tell us about the home you lived in when you were 12.

 

Corner lot.

White with blue shutters.

Driveway set at an angle

roughly high enough to launch the space shuttle.

Smooth carport surface that was perfect

for roller-skating to the latest hits by Blondie.

I had a Heart of Glass too.

 

Inside,

split floor plan.

Parents on one side.

Me on the other.

Foreshadowing much?

I had a door that could

close off my side of the world.

I closed that door a lot.

Storm was coming.

Thunder already rumbling,

shaking our foundations.

 

When I was 12, not a lot of people knew.

Our façade was still somewhat intact.

We smiled on the outside.

Swimming in secrets,

drowning in beer cans on the inside.

 

© Sandra Perry 2014

