Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now
it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:18-19

I’ve been in a weird season in my life.  A lot of drama.  A lot of loss.  A lot of change.  A lot of stress.  I’ve moved beyond carrying baggage to lugging luggage.  I’ve cried, fussed, eaten, and griped my way through the last couple of months.  It’s not been fun, but it has been familiar.  Maybe too familiar.

It’s time to move on.

We all have those times when we’ve stayed in the valley of the shadow of death too long.  When God is calling us up the mountain again but we’re too lazy to move.  Sometimes the mire of our misery gets a little too comfortable and we try to set up housekeeping.  We make it functional… or so we think.

In Isaiah 43, God is speaking to a nation who is defeated.  They have been taken into captivity by the Babylonians as judgment for their own unfaithfulness and disobedience.  God removed his protection from them when they removed their trust in him.  It was not a good day to be Jewish.  However, like all things, this punishment was not to be forever.

In this passage, Isaiah’s message from God is about hope and redemption, about moving on.  God is saying, “Okay, enough sadness.  Let’s get back on track and move forward.  I have plans for you beyond this.  Have faith and move forward.  I’m still God and I still love you.”

Like the prodigal son in Luke 15 who found himself mired in the pig sty, there comes a time when we come to our senses, get out of the muck and move on to better things.  Being free and clean means having the wherewithall to get up out of the circumstances and walking in the light and knowledge you have at that moment.  You don’t have to have it all figured out in order to move forward. 

To quote one of my favorite Bible verses, “… and it came to pass…”

