“Breaking news.  There is an active shooter at the Navy Yard in Washington, D.C.  Details are emerging. Please stay tuned for more details,” the news anchor said, with that “serious news face.”  Is she horrified or excited?  Maybe both? 

Again with the violence.

Again with the pain.

Again with the unspeakable.  Unimaginable.  Inexplicable.

It would be so easy just to turn the channel.

There’s bound to be a Kardashian on somewhere doing something stupid.

“Twelve confirmed dead, including at least one shooter.”

Have we always been this broken?

They’ll talk about gun control again,

but…

would taking the guns change anyone’s heart?

“As far as we know, it’s an isolated incident,” they said. “We have no known motive at this stage.”

Why is the most important question, isn’t it?

Except the problem is, what “why” is good enough when people are bleeding in the street?

We’re called to be salt and light, but I have to admit…

I don’t feel light or salty today.

I pray for the families.

I pray for justice.

I pray… because it’s I can do.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/16/writing-challenge-dialogue/

 

