Memorial Day is the unofficial start of summer. The change from the delicacy of spring into the blazing inferno we know in the South as summer. It’s not unusual for this transition to be nearly immediate. Sixty degrees one day and then nearly ninety the next. Life is a lot like that. Seasons change, sometimes suddenly and without warning.

I am in a state of transition. Certain things in my life have run their course and I’m in a place where I have to decide what is next. What’s the next challenge? The next chapter? Laurels aren’t made to be rested upon.

So I’m asking myself some hard questions about what’s working and what’s not. What I can control and what needs to be let go. What’s important to me now and what doesn’t matter anymore. It can be pretty scary, but taking inventory is necessary to grow and move on. I’m not a huge fan of change, but I’m even less a fan of stagnation.

Every good story has a change in chapters now and then. The story would cease to be interesting if it didn’t.

