Balance always requires a fierce and ruthless examination of priorities. Our true priorities are not mere lists of activities completed or goals set but candid reflections of our heart desires. What we deem important receives the most time, energy, attention and resources. – Mary Southerland

OUCH!

Balance is something that I’m striving toward this year. It’s so easy for me to get completely overwhelmed and start spinning out of control emotionally. I say yes to too many things and then I resent the people that asked me in the first place. That makes sense, right? NOT.

The fact of the matter is that balance is a choice. It’s the right ordering of priorities. It’s making decisions based on our values and not what other people think you should value.

Instead, we often relinquish control of our life to unworthy demands dictated by a world that operates in “urgent” gear. We forget what is really important. The important rarely barges in while the urgent is always an offensive intruder. The important waits patiently while the urgent demands its own way, creating bedlam and imbalance. Certainly, there are times when the important is also urgent – but we must learn to discern between the two. We wrongly conclude that a busy life is automatically a productive life and think that a full schedule will surely produce a full heart. – Mary Southerland

My grandmother used to say that worry was like a rocking chair. You’re moving but you’re not getting anywhere. I think that can be said about a lot of the furious activity in my life. Just because I’m moving doesn’t mean I’m accomplishing anything that matters. More importantly, just because I’m busy doesn’t mean I’m working on anything that God’s called me to do. In fact, “busyness” is probably why we don’t do more for God.

“I just don’t have time for Bible study.” Really? You have time to maintain 20 games of Words with Friends.

I know that I’ll be taking some serious inventory of what’s important in my life and what’s not.

Anyone with me?

