Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.” (Ephesians 6:13-18, NIV, emphasis mine)

I’ve probably read this section of scripture 84,000 times but somehow on this reading, these words stood out for me:  “… after you done everything, to stand.”  Talk about all dressed up and nowhere to go!

As anyone who’s read this blog even once knows, I’m a fixer.  A doer.  An action-oriented girl.  I make plans.  I execute plans.  I love God so much that I don’t want to burden Him with my problems.  I’ve got this stuff handled…. RIGHT!  In other words, simply “standing” isn’t my forte.

But apparently, it’s something I should be working on.

There are just some things that I’m not equipped to handle.  Things that only God can do, and in those moments, I’m just supposed to stand back and watch God be God.  Instead of freaking out that everything in my arsenal is shot, it’s time to expect divine intervention.

Here’s the hard part.  Standing means waiting.  I hate waiting.  I mean, I REALLY hate waiting.  I’m the chick tapping my foot in front of the microwave because it’s taking… too…. LONG!  Patience is a virtue that didn’t come standard on this model, but I’m working on it.

Here’s the thing.  Just because you’re busy doesn’t mean you’re accomplishing anything.  I’m learning that sometimes at my busiest, I’m the most useless.  I have no direction.  I’m just manic motion.  God is teaching me that standing is okay, even if it’s not my natural state.

Sometimes you just have to stand back and watch God do His thing… and it’s always worth watching. 🙂

