I just finished Liz Curtis Higgs book, The Girl’s Still Got it:  Take a Walk with Ruth and the God that Rocked Her World.

I’ve been a fan of Liz since I read Bad Girls of the Bible.  She has an amazing conversational writing style that is very engaging without sacrificing content or her research.  She makes the people in this story more than just illustrations.  They breathe, walk around and make choices just like the rest of us.  She’s done her homework and she’s able to relate it in a way that is enjoyable.  Definitely not a textbook.

In this book, she takes on the story of Ruth and Naomi.  As many times as I’ve read this section of Scripture, I can definitely say that I see this story with new eyes.  Liz used history and customs of the period to really illustrate how insanely brave Ruth’s decision to follow Naomi really was.  It never occurred to me that Naomi’s reaction to Ruth at the beginning of the book might have been a combination of grief and the beginnings of menopause.   I also never realized that Boaz’ mother was Rahab, the prostitute who saved the Israelite spies in Jericho.  Certainly  would explain why he had a heart for a foreign woman.

I also loved who she uses this story to highlight how Jesus is our kinsman-redeemer, taking us from our places of need and desolation into redemption and new life.  How it doesn’t matter where we are or where we’ve been, because He is there to make us a new creation.

This one is definitely worth two thumbs up.

** I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

