Some days you just don’t want to be awake.  Today is one of those days for me.  I’m unmotivated and unamused.  It’s a deep-breath-before-speaking kind of day.  So what’s a girl to do on days when the bed beckons and yet the day demands otherwise?

I listen to K-Love most mornings on my way to work to get my head in the right place to start the day.  This morning, one my favorite songs by Casting Crowns, East to West, came on the radio.  It’s about someone who’s not feeling terribly secure or saved.  (Not that any of you ever feel like that, right?  <Insert heavy sarcasm here.>)

Here’s the lines that have been boiling in my head today:

I know You’ve washed me white. Turned my darkness into light. I need Your peace to get me through, to get me through this night.

I can’t live by what I feel.  But by the truth Your word reveals. And I’m not holding onto You, but You’re holding onto me.  You’re holding onto me.

What’s true might or might not be what we feel.  Feelings are tricky little buggers.  They change before you know it.  The truth doesn’t.  The truth is the truth no matter how much sleep I got or how hungry I am.  It’s the same whether I’m happy or sad or hormonal.  Truth is truth no matter who’s mean to me or who treats me well today. The truth is sometime’s hard, but it’s the only only substance strong enough to build your life on.

The Word reveals that I’m a beloved child of the most high God.  I FEEL like hammered pigeon poop.

I think I like the truth better.

