I’m a fixer and I have been since I was a little girl.  I seemingly emerged from the womb with a personal mission to right every wrong and to rid the world of all conflict.  The problem, however, is that the world and all it’s people’s problems are more than one white woman can handle.  Frankly this one white woman’s problems are more than I can handle sometimes.

The older I get, the more I’m ready to admit that I can fix everything.  I can’t make everyone act right.  I can’t make all the evil of the world disappear, and I can’t make all dreams and circumstances come true.  No matter how hard I try or how earnestly I want to.

Funny thing I’ve just realized… God doesn’t try to fix everything.  He has the power to make everyone act right, but he doesn’t because he won’t violate our free will.  Not all dreams come true because sometimes those dreams are not in his perfect will and maybe, if achieved, would be more like a nightmare.  He says no to us for a reason.   Conflict will happen because those who act badly will eventually be confronted by those who do right.

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.   In this world you will have trouble.   But take heart! I have overcome   the world. – John 16:33

He didn’t say you may have trouble, but that you WILL.  It’s inevitable.  Life is hard.  It’s complicated and sometimes it’s downright messy, but … TAKE HEART… be encouraged… it’s gonna be okay because Jesus has overcome the world.  As Junior Asparagus of VeggieTales would say, “Don’t worry because God is the biggest!”  No matter how big or complicated or messy or hard it gets, God is still in charge.

I don’t have to fix it.  I just have to overcome.

