It’s funny how God uses weird circumstances to make you realize what you thought was a curse is actually a blessing.

My parents divorced when I was 15 and it was tough for my single mom.  Sperm Donor bailed and didn’t do much in terms of financial support.  A pretty common story.  Mom was able to get me a car, but I had to get a job to pay for gas and insurance.  Also, a pretty common story.  My mom’s mantra through all those years was, “You don’t have any choice but to make it.”   We were survivors.

Well, fast forward SEVERAL YEARS.  I was listening to a coworker on the phone.  She was discussing a problem with one of her kids.  These kids never had to work.  Went to private schools.  Very affluent upbringing.  Now, these same kids are out of college struggling with having to work and just being grown ups in general.  They’ve never had to work before and they’re freaking out.

It made me realize that while I didn’t have it easy as a kid, I was given some amazing gifts in terms of resilence and survival skills.  I’ve learned that you can do anything you have to do.  You don’t have any choice but to make it.

Thanks, Mom.

